Disappointment

Screenshot_2014-08-17-18-13-51Several people have come to me via Facebook and WordPress asking for my help in getting sober.  First off, I have no training in sobriety other than my own sometimes flailing attempts.  It boggles my mind that anyone would think that I could be helpful to them.

My nature has always been to go above and beyond helping people to the extent of putting myself last.  In the past, I would do just about anything for anyone in the hopes of gaining their acceptance.  I suppose this came from years of overcompensating due to suffering from super morbid obesity.  When you’re fat, you have to work extra hard at getting people to realize you are human.  Letting others walk all over you becomes second nature.  But, this is not where I was going with this.  I felt I should explain that I’ve always enjoyed helping others despite their intentions as well as my own.

Disappointment creeps in as I watch so many people struggle with their own issues with alcohol.  I’m disappointed because I want them to break free.  I want them to see that they are capable of living a life free of alcohol and all of the problems that booze brings with it. At the same time, I feel like a hypocrite because I had more than my share of Day 1’s.  I did not succeed in sobriety the first or fiftieth time I tried. I don’t want others with alcohol problems to think that I am looking down at them because I’ve chosen to get sober.  I have no place in judging anyone.  Human nature tells us to judge and I suppose we all do.  There’s always that little voice that makes us shake our head as we listen to another story about how alcohol is negatively affecting someone’s life.  I want to yell at them and tell them that the only cure is to stop drinking no matter what but I remember being afraid of life without booze.  The only way for one to know that it’s going to be ok is to get far enough away from drinking to gain some of the benefits of sobriety.

My boyfriend of nearly 5 years is struggling.  He strings together a few weeks of not drinking and claims that because he can quit so easily, he doesn’t have a problem.  It’s so frustrating to watch his cycles.  This brings on binges where he spends days texting me (we live an hour apart) derogatory things about what a horrible person I am.  This cycle happens at least once a month if not more often and he claims that it is due to his bipolar disorder.  I’ve pointed out that he never treats me like that when he’s not drinking.  Drinking brings out his insecurities about himself and our relationship.  He doesn’t realize how detrimental his behavior is to our relationship as well as his own well being.

I’ve painted a picture of him here that makes many people question why I would stay with him.  I know I appear to be that sad abused person who justifies why she stays with someone who clearly doesn’t appear to have her best interests at heart. Nothing I can say here will convince anyone that he is good for me.  We are great together when we aren’t drinking.  I’ve read comments from this blog to him and he seemed to genuinely care about my feelings about alcohol.  He claims that my sobriety has opened his eyes to living a life without booze and how much better my life is and his could be.  But his battle is his to fight.  I cannot control him or make him see that long term sobriety is the only way to live for someone with alcohol issues.  He has to see that on his own as we all do.

The boyfriend told me last night that he was thinking about drinking but he knew he wasn’t going to.  He sat with the feelings instead of acting on them and said that they had passed.  It took a few hours, but the feelings went away. This was a break through for him.  My best advise to anyone who is struggling to string more than a few days of not drinking together is “don’t drink right now”.  If you have to, go minute by minute.  Sit with your feelings of wanting to drink instead of acting on them.  Scream and yell if you have to.  Go for a walk or go to bed at 6 PM in order to carry you on to your next sober minute.  I promise that the feelings of wanting a drink will pass and you will be relieved as well as a little proud of yourself.

7 thoughts on “Disappointment

  1. Relationships are surely messy. So is sobriety, at least some of the time. Hell, all of life can be messy. I strongly believe that most folks are doing the best they can with the tools they have at that moment in time. Good luck to you!

    Like

  2. None of us are sober experts. We’re just folks who have gotten and stayed sober. For someone who has trouble getting sober, we have a lot to offer. And you did that in this post in particular. You shared about your boyfriend, and you gave advice that has worked for you at the end. Whose to say that this won’t help anyone? That’s why we’re out here – to share. I am no expert on this. I am, however, an expert of what my experience has been. So that is all I offer. As do you. So don’t sell yourself short on what you have to offer. Many of us can’t string more than 3-4 days sober in a row, let alone 288 🙂

    Great post

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Paul! Your life experiences are helpful to so many including myself despite our different life circumstances. The greatest part is knowing that we are not alone in this horrible disease. 🙂

      Like

  3. You have your program and God willing, boyfriend will have his. Whatever the case, it’s you that has to determine that. My hubby and I met through AA and I had just recently had a slip after over a year of recovery. Though we did everything WRONG the first year together, we were married 3 years later. Keep on keepin’ on. Thanks for the share!

    Like

Leave a Reply

