Busy Brain

The next two weeks are the busiest I’ve been in years. My youngest daughter is graduating high school. We have some sort of honors recognition every night this week. I’m proud to say we learned recently that she has earned a full ride scholarship to a big ten university due to her hard work and my small income.

I cannot imagine trying to keep everything in order this week if I was hung over. It feels amazing to wake up knowing I can handle what the day will throw at me.

Day 200 is coming up in a few days. I’m feeling stronger than ever in sobriety until I’m tired at the end of the day. Sometimes the thought of numbness creeps into my brain. Escape. It’s mostly when I’ve had a long day. I’m brought back to reality pretty quickly by the sickening thought of an anxiety ridden hangover.

I still haven’t put myself in many situations where people are drinking. My family is pretty much non drinking. We’ve never had booze at family gatherings so that was never an issue. Most of my drinking has been done quietly with my boyfriend of 4 years at his place. That’s really the only time I fight with myself about it.

Anyway, it’s getting late and I  have more on my mind but I’m too tired to type. I’m still catching up with the sober blogs I read. You are all saving me daily.

2 thoughts on “Busy Brain

  1. Nice to be tired at the end of the day because of how much of LIFE is taking up your day, and not the drinking-remorse-hangover-shame cycle. Gotta chalk up gratitude on that one, my friend 🙂 Congrats on your almost 200 days and on your daughter’s graduation! Sounds like she has a present, sober and busy mom…groovy 🙂
    Paul

    Like

    • Thanks Paul. Working hard has so many advantages over drinking. The paycheck is great and the sleep is even better. I’m very proud of my daughter and grateful that I get to be here for her. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

