A Flurry Of Activity

Work has been insanely busy and I haven’t had time to think much about my sobriety. Working two jobs is getting the better of me as this is the busiest time of the year at both.

Today I worked 11 hours outside in 87° temperatures. I wasn’t supposed to work outside today so I was unprepared. No hat or sunscreen. I was literally baking in the sun. We had the hardest winter of my life and my body is still acclimated to below zero temps. It was strange to have the sun on my face after six months of horrible weather.

Anyway, I realized on my way home from work that I wasn’t completely exhausted after an 11 hour day. I was actually in a great mood and still am. This would not have been the case six months ago. I would’ve bought wine on my way home and drank my dinner.

When I got home, I started the grill outside as the neighbors waived and remarked about the beautiful day. They offered me a beer. I chuckled and said that I’d better stick to water after a long hot day in the sun. I didn’t even have a fleeting thought about accepting the drink. 

My calender is bursting with activities for the next few weeks. My youngest daughter is graduating from high school and my oldest, who is a Senior in college, will be visiting home from 500 miles away.

There’s so much to do that I’m overwhelmed most days. I’ve always seen obstacles as challenges and looked for ways to overcome them. I stopped when I was drinking. Today, I’m facing challenges head on with a clear head.

5 thoughts on “A Flurry Of Activity

Leave a Reply

