Glowing Skin?

I’m floating along doing okay. Not great, just kinda sub par. I don’t feel like drinking most of the time but I’ve had a few moments lately.

Reading other sober blogs makes me feel like I’m not doing something right. I mean everyone talks about their beautiful glowing skin and weight loss. I look in the mirror and see the same tired skin and the weight that has not fallen off like others who have quit drinking.

Maybe it’s because I didn’t drink every day. Binge drinking is a bird of a different feather. I could lose 12 pounds during a 3 day binge. I realize that was all water loss due to dehydration.

I still wake up thankful every day that I’m not in hangover hell. I’m happy that I can remember every conversation from the night before. Watching Leaving Las Vegas makes me grateful that my drinking never progressed to that level.

Today is day 140 of sobriety.

13 thoughts on “Glowing Skin?

  1. Congrats on your Day 140. I was a binge drinker too and don’t worry, my love handles and pot belly are still there and in fact I think they’re growing. I’m cutting myself some slack for now. We’re doing ok hon. 🙂

    Like

  2. graysgrogblog says:

    Hi, VG. it’s certainly true that reading others’ blogs, whilst extremely valuable, should carry a “health warning” ;o) I mean, let’s face it, we all have our little victories and crises of confidence along the way but, “unfortunately”, they aren’t synchronised so someone’s skin is brighter today and mine isn’t :o( or, at the same time as I’m building a mashed potato sculpture of a wine bottle on my dinner plate (à la Close Encounters of the Third Kind), someone else is blogging that they “haven’t craved the booze in 109 days”….. We need to get ourselves organised, so that nobody’s ups coincide with anyone else’s downs, don’t we? …. but wait, that wouldn’t work! We’d just end up with thousands of mashed potato sculptures and nobody to come and kick ‘em over! ;o) ;o) ;o)

    Like

  3. lauredann says:

    ‘Tis better to have a few extra lbs than to be drinking, any day! I haven’t really lost weight yet but I”m only on Day 25. However, I feel so much better and I do notice my eyes are clearer. You’re doing great Vodka Goggles. I can’t wait to get where you are. I didn’t drink every single day, but several times a week, and binged at least once a week, sometimes twice. Ugh, I get grossed out thinking how much I drank. At a party last night, sober as a judge and marvelled at how drunk some people got. Only because I was thinking, ‘That was me, almost every time’. For me, I don’t want that any more. Next on my list is attempting to get some form of exercise… wish me luck! Take care!

    Like

    • Congratulations on day 25! You’re doing awesome!

      How wonderful that you were able to step outside the bottle and see what others normally see of you. I’ve only been in a few circumstances where others were drinking and I wasn’t since becoming sober. It made me realize that being drunk is only fun for the first few drinks and then the drinker becomes tiresome and boring. I don’t want to be her anymore.

      I need to take a note from you and get back on the exercise band wagon. I have fallen off this winter since we have had the worst weather in over 30 years. I miss walking (I was up to 9 miles a day) and riding my bicycle (I normally did 18 miles when I wasn’t walking). I’m hoping that better weather will bring my motivation back.

      Like

  4. Paulette Crowley says:

    You are SOOOO doing something right. You are staying sober – that’s the ONLY thing you need to get right, then everything else follows. It’s not easy. I am on Day 2 after a relapse. Keep not drinking – you’re doing great. x

    Like

  5. I’m learning to stop comparing myself to others in sobriety, though it can be hard. I often read insight from newbies, and feel that at almost a year in, I’ve just reached that level of insight. But we’re all different. And I still have my potbelly and love handles, too! But I know that I am healthier, and I feel SO much better. And that’s what counts…not the number on the scale.

    Like

Leave a Reply

